02_angel

Again, I failed to get up early to dance. It seems a bit disruptive to my roommates, to play dance-y music in the morning. And I’m always getting out of bed too late to even get out the door on time. Does this mean I’ve failed to integrate this into my own personal culture? I’ve been thinking about how my cultural intervention thoughts from Saturday would translate to this project. Knowing a culture would be translated on this small scale as knowing yourself. So if I know that I’m not a morning person, maybe I shouldn’t plan for something to happen in the morning. Or maybe I could work it into my routine to serve a double purpose of helping me to wake up. Maybe I could listen to the music in my headphones and dance from one task to another— getting dressed to making my morning smoothie, all dancing big. It’ll be crazy. I’ll try it tomorrow.

After a slow day that didn’t seem incredibly risky, I was considering writing about the value in simply recognizing risks that I take in normal, everyday life, like the fact that I called my client today even though I wasn’t sure if the meeting was still happening, or if I was supposed to be talking to them on my own terms. I’ve never called a client before! So I think that is valuable.

But then I learned another lesson while walking home. I said “Hi” to a man who was going through the garbage in the alley behind my house. I didn’t know what I would say next, I mostly had the courage to say something only because he surprised me as I rounded the corner. I usually would just smile or wave at someone I pass in the alley. But the fact that I started the conversation with that one small word gave him permission to talk to me. He walked with me down the alley and commented on what a nice day it was. He asked what I thought the temperature might be and he told me his name was Angel. I always get nervous when strangers follow me or ask my name. This man didn’t ask my name, and he was obviously more interested in his task of finding treasures in the garbage than he was in following me. It was comforting to feel like I could trust a stranger, and to know that sometimes I just need to take a small step to set something in motion.

