I’ve been keeping track of words that other people use and that I don’t, thinking that maybe if I use these I will seem more like a confident, competent professional person. I’ve also been keeping track of words that I have trouble finding when I need them, that might need a bit more cementing into my brain word categorization. The lists have turned out rather hilarious and I’m worried it’s because using the words that other people use is a bad idea. 

Words other people use:
We’ll be in touch
concurrently
staffing
before we move on,
amenable
reticent
approach
reluctance
piecemeal
leverage
craft
emphasis on
cohesive
reinforce
revamp
factors
agnostic
items
check off
cover off on
confirm
commodity
expand
impact

Words I have trouble accessing when I need them:
credenza
suspenders
intermediary
controversial

 

